Posted by: vhclem | April 22, 2008

Making progress…maybe (swapbot postcards)

Well, my office is finally open.  We started yesterday and saw 8 kids.  Not bad for a first day with just 1 ad in the paper so far.  I haven’t made any progress on my stitching, but my sewing room is a lot closer to being organized.  I sorted my fabric Sunday.  Of course, Weeble thought I was just creating a nest for her and she promptly curled up and went so sleep in the space between the various files. 

I’ve gotten on swap-bot.  I’m trying to keep it light because my resources are little limited. We have to drive further here for things and the WalMart doesn’t have much of a selection.  Plus I have a lot of UFO’s to finish.  I’ve sent one swap package and made some postcards that all went out yesterday.  The postcards were for an altered swap. The idea was to take a postcard and make a new front for the description on the back.  It was already a bit of a challenge because I’m not as comfortable with paper as with fabric and fiber.  The big problem was, I couldn’t find any postcards here except at the post office, so here’s what I did:

I found a quote on the National geographic site about tigers and put that on the back, as if the front were about tigers:

Tigers use their distinctive coats as camouflage (no two have exactly the same stripes). They lie in wait and creep close enough to attack their victims with a quick spring and a fatal pounce.

Then I photoshopped some images of the girls.  It was my first photoshop game and I had fun.  I wanted an old, newspaper-ish look.

both sleeping

both edited

 

 

 

 

 

Sundae sleeping

sundae edited

 

  

 

 

weeble belly

edited belly

 

 

 

 

I made up a pseudoarticle.  Each one had a different one of the edited images inserted.  (There were a total of three cards.)   Then each had 3 pictures overlaid–2 of the photoshop and one of the original color. 

The article:

Scientists Spot New Ferocious Beasts

Douglas, Georgia—Researchers have found a new dangerous species of feline in a

small town in south Georgia.  The newly named Felis sleepus seems to be unique to

this small community.  Found in striped and spotted varieties, these beasts post a

unique threat.

 

“They appear to be sleeping to lure in their prey,” explains one scientist.  “Then,

once they realize the prey is within reach, they begin purring.  This incites the prey to begin oo’ing and ah’ing and before you know it, you’re hooked.  The prey takes the creature into its home and soon is subject to its every whim.”

 

Others feel this creature is not a danger.  “It’s easy to resist,” reports Dr. Hatimus Cattus.  “They’re messy and noisy.  They want you to provide their every whim, but

 yet expect to be allowed to live their own lives without interference from their prey. 

Just stay away from them!”

 

These creatures appear be benign, but are not without their defenses.  They are extremely territorial and protective of those that belong in their territory.  When threatened they exhibit a remarkable ability to increase to two to three times their

size.  They have a distinctive growl, interspersed with hissing.  Their claws can inflict

 serious damage. 

 

 

Scientists believe that they may prove to be excellent companions to those within their

 territories, but more research is needed.

 

Hopefully the recipients like them, or at the very least get a bit of a

smile from the girls!

 


Responses

  1. Your swap partners are sure to be thrilled. I loved your “article”, too. Soooo true!


Leave a comment

Categories