Posted by: vhclem | October 9, 2011

Arts Alliance quilt–photo heavy!

I’m finally getting around to posting the pics –late is better than never, right?

The Coffee County Alliance for the Arts fundraiser was held at the end of September.  We had a great time.  Of course, I didn’t finish my quilt til the night before at midnight, but at least I finished!  It came out to about 45 inches square.  I think at final count it includes 16 children’s books/stories.  It’s only about the third piece of CQ I’ve completely finished.  (My UFO stack is HUGE!!)  I learned several things.

1.  Whole cloth quilts look cool, but they’re a b**** to do!

2.  I suck at finishing.  Please don’t look too closely at the borders.

3.  If I think something’s going to go quickly, it’s guaranteed something is going to go wrong and take about 5 more hours to finish!

4.  The girls like it when I make a mess in my sewing room.  They had a field day with the fabric nests I made just for them!

5.  I’m a messy worker.  I thought about taking photos of the mess (what’s left after several cleaning events), but I’m too embarrassed!

You can click on the images for a larger view.  I’d love to hear comments, suggestions for next time, etc.

And I’d love to know if anyone can name everything included!


Responses

  1. Wow, way to go. Congradulations! Your first completed full quilt. I love the little girl on her tummy reading. It looks like a great quilt to spend time looking at all the things that you have embroidered I like the look of your site tool. Helen in Seattle

  2. Well there are a few pics that I really LOVED and left specific comments with them. Way to go girl!

  3. Let’s see. I spied Mary Poppins, Alice in Wonderland, Nancy Drew, and Heidi. Any other storybook heroines I missed? 🙂 I love the landscape -makes me want to wander down the path toward the sunbeams.


Leave a comment

Categories